Sylvia Legris wins the Pat Lowther Award

It's raining awards for Sylvia Legris' Nerve Squall. Following her thrilling win of the Griffin Poetry Prize, Legris found herself the winner of the Pat Lowther Award on Saturday, June 10, at a special awards banquet at the League’s 40th annual AGM in Ottawa.

The winners of both the Lowther & Lampert awards were announced at the banquet. Suzanne Buffam was the winner of the Lampert Award for her book Past Imperfect. Shortlisted authors for this year’s awards include: Ann Compton, Erin Moure, Carolyn Marie Souaid, Jan Zwicky, Leanne Averbach, Matt Rader, Barbara Folkart, David Seymour, Steven Laird, and fellow Coach House poet Margaret Christakos, nominated for her book Sooner.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the preceding year, and is in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. The award carries a $1,000 prize.

Here's what the Lowther judges had to say about Nerve Squall:

'Sylvia Legris' Nerve Squall is a sprung song to the psyche's rampant and spastic synapses, the cacophony of a migraine, the whirling dervish of nerves. Incorporating the lexical intensity of metereology and ornithology with a surreal splash of fish, this series of taut journeys inside the mind's obsessiveness turns the reader into an electrified listener at the perimeter between insanity and music. Weaving in allusions to fellow iconoclasts, from Dr. Seuss to Robinson Jeffers, Legris reinvigorates the cadences of the subconscious, from which all true poetry comes. A collection of intense whimsy and mellifluous angst, couched in the lexicon of the ecstatic.'

Related Content
Related Contributors: 
Related Titles: