Gabe Foreman Wins the 2011 A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry

Montreal-based poet Gabe Foreman ran off with Quebec's top prize for English-language poetry, the Quebec Writer's Federation A.M. Klein Award, a triumphant achievement for a debut collection.
Foreman's A Complete Encyclopedia of Different Types of People is a sharp, funny and lyrical attempt to taxonomize human foibles. Congratulations Gabe!

Other Quebec Writers Federation winners include:

Paragraphe Hugh Maclennan Prize for Fiction
Dimitri Nasrallah, Niko (Véhicule Press; Esplanade Books)

Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction
Joel Yanofsky, Bad Animals: A Father’s Accidental Education in Autism (Viking Canada)

Concordia University First Book Prize
Ann Scowcroft, The Truth of Houses (Brick Books)

Cole Foundation Prize for Translation
Lazer Lederhendler, Apocalypse for Beginners (Knopf Canada: Vintage Canada), a translation of Nicholas Dickner, Tarmac (Éditions Alto)

Children’s and Young Adult Literature
Alan Silberberg, Milo: Sticky Notes and Brain Freeze (Simon & Schuster)

Read more about the winners in the Montreal Gazette.

Related Content
Related Contributors: